Two more tunnels for Moscow metro are completed

Two TBMs have finished the new tunnels for the Moscow metro.

The TBM named “Svetlana” completed the first right tunnel of the Kozhukhovskaya line from the station “Lukhmanovskaya” to “Ulitsa Dmitrievskogo”. It took only four months to construct 1,200 meters.

Then the TBM will be dismantled and transported to the pit, where once again assembled “Svetlana” will start the tunnel towards “Kosino” station.

The start of the work will be at the crossing of Privolnaya street and Lermontovsky prospect – the place is situated out of the Moscow Ring Road.

The Moscow metro system expands behind the Ring Road following the rapidly growing capital of Russia.


Map -  the Kozhukhovskaya line

The Kozhukhovskaya line will include 9 stations. Two of them will be interchange stations.

It will be possible to change the line at “Nizhegorodskaya ulitsa” to The Third Interchange Contour (the Second Ring).

The station “Kosino” will connect the line with the Tagano-Krasnopresnenskaya line, the last goes throughout the city having interchange stations in the very center of Moscow.  

design metro station-nizhegorodskaya ulitsa

“Nizhegorodskaya ulitsa” station design

The section of the Kozhukhovskaya line from the station “Nekrasovka” to “Kosino” is expected  to be put into operation by the end of 2017. The whole line will start operation in 2018.

The second TBM “Natalie” finished the construction of the left tunnel from the pit where the trains will be leaving the Second Ring and entering the Kalininsko-Solntsevskaya line to the station “Delovoy Center” at the Third Interchange Contour, where the newest Moscow skyscrapers were constructed. It took 2.5 months to build 743 meters long tunnel.

The Third Interchange Contour of Moscow will lessen the passenger traffic at the Koltsevaya Line (Circle interchange line) and at the interchange stations situated in the historical center of Moscow.

construction-tunnel-the Kozhukhovskaya line


The length of the interchange circle is 61 km, it will include 28 stations. The interchange stations with radial lines are almost half of them – 17, and 7 will be interchange stations with radial railroads.

Two of the stations will be the interchange stations with the Moscow Central Circle – another Moscow circle metro line crossing the Third Interchange Contour in two points.  

At the scheme the light brown ring in the center indicates the Koltsevaya Line (Circle interchange line), the blue irregular ring indicates the Moscow Central Ring and the pink irregular ring crossing the blue one indicates the Third Interchange Contour.

Moscow central ring scheme

Additional materials on the topic

The Alyabino-Baltyisky tunnel is opened in Moscow (read more)

Moscow metro: Both lines from “Yugo-zapadnaya” to “Troparevo” are completed (read more)